Mobile Menu     MENU

Start Point: Slowboat to Saul

Nigel Smith & Andy Taylor are Start Point. Based in South Devon their songwriting has so far produced two CD’s of original pop rock with hints of prog and punk. Sea of Treason was released in October 2016.

Here are some of the thoughts we received from the foot tapper Smokin’ Powder to prog epic The Bride Wore Black. And all stations in between.

‘Subtle prog-rock meets The Stranglers.’ Rock ‘n’ Reel.

‘Awesome Album, Awesome Band.’ Mark Taylor. D.J. (Audio Graffiti.)

‘Great lyrics, Great music, a must.’ iTunes review.

‘Somewhere between Kate Bush and Peter Gabriel.’ Prog 82 magazine. (Still not sure about that one).

‘Not as shit as I thought it would be.’ Bob Findlater.

So here we are, July 2019 and the second album has arrived; Slowboat to Saul with twelve new songs that will take you from the banging opener, ‘Night Train to Misery’ through all the emotions to the closing lament of summer love ‘Summerleaze Girl'.

Good old rock, reflective ballads, tales of lost love, wry cracks at the modern world, and an epic tale of the dark underworld. You will find it all on ‘Slowboat to Saul’.